

County of Stettler No. 6

Box 1270 6602 – 44 Avenue Stettler, Alberta TOC 2L0 T:403.742.4441 F: 403.742.1277 www.stettlercounty.ca

July 20, 2023

Honourable RJ Sigurdson Minister of Agriculture and Irrigation 229 Legislature Building 10800-97 Avenue Edmonton, AB T5K 2B6

Dear Minister Sigurdson,

RE: Letter of Support - Special Areas Board request for additional supports

We are writing to support Special Area's July 5, 2023 letter requesting your Ministry's support in working with AFSC to ensure agricultural producers can put insured crops, including hay, to alternate use on a timely basis.

We echo the Special Areas Board's request to increase Low Yield Allowance from three bushels up to seven bushels if the crop is going to be used as grazing or feed for livestock.

We second the request to have producers' yields, in a year declared an agricultural disaster, not added to that producers' long-term average.

We thank you for your consideration of our producers dealing with impossible conditions this year.

Sincerely,

Larry Clarke REEVE

ENCL (1)

CC

Honourable Nate Horner, MLA for Drumheller-Stettler
President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance
Honourable Ric McIver, Minister of Municipal Affairs
Honourable Damien Kurek, Member of Parliament for Battle River-Crowfoot
Mr. Darryl Kay, Chief Executive Officer, AFSC
Ms. Kelly Smith-Fraser, Board Chair, Agriculture Financial Services Corporation
Mr. Paul McLauchlin, President, Rural Municipalities of Alberta
RMA Member Municipalities
Mr. Jordan Christianson, Chair, Special Areas Board