

Northeast Alberta Information HUB

January 17, 2024 Board/Membership Meeting Minutes Pomeroy Hotel, Vermilion, Alberta

Attending: Gerald Aalbers/Lloydminster, Tim MacPhee/Vegreville, Lindsay Haag/EMW, Bill Parker/Cold Lake, Ross Krekoski/St. Paul County, Sonny Rajoo/Two Hills, Jocelyne Lanovaz/Mannville, Sebastian Dutrisac/County of Two Hills, Lorin Tkachuk/Lac La Biche, Harold Bylan/Buffalo Lake Metis Settlement, Alice Wainwright Stewart/Lakeland College, Phyllis Forsyth/Bruderheim, Karl Hauch/Bruderheim, Lorne Halisky/County of Smoky Lake, Murray Phillips/Two Hills County, Linda Sallstrom/STEP, Raman Sahota/Smoky Lake, Warren Griffin/Boyle Don Slipchuk/M.D. Bonnyville, Nancy Broadbent/Portage College, Al Harvey/Lamont Jason Boorse/Elk Point, Treena Lane/Redwater, Leslie Cusack/County Vermilion River, Heather Stromquist/LLB County, Marylee Prior/Vermilion, Paul Miranda/Vilna, Daniel Warawa/Lamont County, Rob Olsen/Redwater, Camille Wallach/Athabasca County, Dave Hunka/Fortis, Alan Parkin/County of Vermilion River, Daru Pretorius/Cold Lake, Jennifer Hodel/Mannville, Kayla Blanchette/Bonnyville, Phil Kushnir/Bonnyville, Bob Ross/Two Hills, Joanne Metchooyech/Portage College Jamieson Brown/Vegreville, Kathy Dmytriw/Crossroads, Scott Kovatch/M.D. B.V., Karyann Boychuk/JET, Lisa Ford/JET, Bob Bezpalko/Alberta HUB, Dennis Roth/ Kitscoty, Scott Kovatch/M.D. Bonnyville, Kevin Lucas/Vermilion, Shannon Harrower/Marwayne, Trudy Smith/Chipman, Shane Olson/Lamont County, Mervin Haight/Andrew, Parrish Tung/Elk Point, Daniel Warawa/Lamont County, Calvin Steinhauer/Goodfish Lake, Angela Mouly/MLA Rowswell office.

Regrets: Rob Pulyk/Vermilion Cliffton Cross/Frog Lake First Nations,
Dan Juhlin/Aerium Analytics,

Guests;

MLA Scott Cyr

MLA Shane Getson Parliamentary Secretary Economic Corridors
MLA Tany Yao Parliamentary Secretary Business Supports, Northern Development
Julianne Threlfall - CN's public & government affairs manager for Alberta & NWT

- 1.0 Chair Gerald Aalbers called the meeting to order at 10:05am Roundtable introductions
 MLA Scott Cyr brought opening remarks for the Premier.
- 2.0 Chair Aalbers asked for a motion to approve the agenda.

Jocelyne Lanovaz moved the approval of the agenda.

Carried

3.0 Chair Aalbers asked for a motion to approve the December 31,, 2023 board/membership meeting minutes.

Tim MacPhee moved to approve the October 26, 2023,

Carried



- 4.0 Financial Statement as of December 31, 2023, 2023 Jocelyne Lanovaz Bob Bezpalko Lindsay Haag moved to approve the December 31, 2023, financials as presented.
- 5.0 Canadian Exporters & Manufacturers / Deputy Ministers Meeting Lindsay Haag EMW, Mayor Tim MacPhee Vegreville (For info Purposes) Lindsay and Mayor MacPhee gave a positive summary of the meeting.
- 6.0 Executive Director report Bob Bezpalko provided an update on projects:

 CECI Application / NRED Application Regional Investment Readiness

 ACP application N.E. Alta. Commercial-Industrial Attraction Asset Plan Project

 EATC presentation Wild Horse Port of Entry Federal Jurisdiction
- 7.0 Small Community Opportunity Program N.E. Alta. UAV/AAM Project
 Bob provided an update on the project and board approval
 Electronic Motion Dated December 11, 2023... for information purposes
 Alice Wainwright Stewart moved to approve the application to the Small Community
 Opportunity Program (SCOP) to execute Alberta HUB's UAV/AAM Project for \$90,000 with
 the Northeast Alberta Information HUB (Alberta HUB) contributing \$10,000 which is 10%
 required for the SCOP application, total project cost \$100,000.
- 8.0 Housing Initiative Bob Bezpalko detailed the project and potential results
- 9.0 Next Alberta HUB meeting is scheduled for March 26, 2024.... Location to be determined

Noon - Lunch Break.....

1pm – Mayor Aalbers called the meeting to order and invited MLA Getson to speak to Economic Corridors.

MLA Getson presentation: Delivering Economic Corridors
MLA Tany Yao spoke to Business supports and asked for any and all input.
A major discussion took place regarding highways, rail and airports.....

The presentations from MLA Getson and the EATC will be sent out to the membership.

Chair Aalbers thanked everyone for attending and thanked MLA Cry, MLA Getson, MLA Yao, and Julianne Threlfall for their information.

Adjourned at 2:40pm.

Gerald Aalbers	Jocelyne Lanovaz	
Chair	Secretary/Treasurer	
Northeast Alberta Information HUB	Northeast Alberta Information HUB	