From: Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission < info@abebc.ca>

Sent: April 17, 2025 2:18 PM

To: Alberta Electoral Boundaries Commission < info@abebc.ca>

Subject: Alberta's Electoral Boundaries Commission

Good afternoon:

My name is Aaron Roth. I am the Administrator of Alberta's Electoral Boundaries Commission, which commenced its work on March 28, 2025. A media release regarding the Commission is attached. A formal letter will be sent on behalf of the Chair of the Commission in the coming weeks. On behalf of the Commission, I wanted to reach out to you to provide you with information about the Commission via its website: abebc.ca

I also wanted to advise you that the Commission is now accepting written submissions in relation to its work in reviewing Alberta's Electoral Divisions. You will find information on making a written submission on the website here: Make A Submission - 2025 Alberta Electoral Boundaries

CommissionAlberta Electoral Boundaries Commission

The written submission window will close on May 23, 2025. A series of public meetings will be held from late May to late June throughout Alberta. Please see the website for information about those upcoming public meetings in the weeks ahead.

If you have any questions, please email <u>info@abebc.ca</u> or call via the Commission's toll-free line: 1-833-777-2125.

Sincerely,
Aaron Roth
Administrator
Electoral Boundaries Commission

From: Alberta News

To: <u>CPE-Communications Directors</u>

Subject: Public Agency News: Electoral Boundaries Commission to soon begin consultations

Date: Friday, March 28, 2025 2:00:53 PM

Electoral Boundaries Commission to soon begin consultations

March 28, 2025 Media inquiries

Consultations with Albertans will be starting this spring as the newly named Electoral Boundaries Commission begins its review of the province's current electoral divisions.

"Periodic review of constituency boundaries is key to fair and effective representation for all Albertans," said the Honourable Nathan Cooper, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta. "The independent Commission will consider legal requirements, including population changes to existing constituencies, relative population densities and common community interests. It is important that Albertans give the Commission input and feedback to ensure its success, and I encourage them to do so."

The Honourable Justice Dallas K. Miller was appointed on March 19, 2025, by the Lieutenant Governor in Council to chair the Commission. Working with Justice Miller are the following four individuals, appointed by Speaker Cooper.

Dr. Julian Martin (Sherwood Park)

Nominated by the President of Executive

Council

John D. Evans, KC (City of Lethbridge)

Nominated by the President of Executive

Counci

Greg Clark (City of Calgary)

Nominated by the Leader of His Majesty's

Loyal Opposition

Susan Samson (Sylvan Lake) Nominated by the Leader of His Majesty's

Loyal Opposition

The Commission will submit its first report within seven months of its appointment and its final report within five months of the date of its first report. The Commission will hold a series of public hearings prior to these reports being submitted to the Speaker.

As required by the *Electoral Boundaries Commission Act*, the Commission will make proposals to the Legislative Assembly as to the area, boundaries and names of electoral divisions following its review.

BACKGROUNDER

Appointed by O/C - Chair - Honourable Justice Dallas K. Miller

The Honourable Dallas K. Miller received his JD degree from the University of Saskatchewan in 1984. After his admission to the Law Society of Alberta in 1985 he remained in private practice focusing on litigation for 21 years, five years as agent for the Attorney General of Canada. In 1998 he was appointed Queen's Counsel (QC now KC). As a lawyer he was active in the Alberta Civil Trial Lawyers Association. He was appointed as a Justice of the Court of Queen's Bench in 2006 (now Court of King's Bench). He has served as a trial judge for 18 years and has recently chosen supernumerary status.

Nominations from Honourable Danielle Smith, ECA, Premier

Dr. Julian Martin of Sherwood Park is a Professor Emeritus from the University of Alberta. He was previously the Director for the Federal Cabinet Ministers' Regional Office and has served on many boards and committees, including the Surface Rights Board, Land Compensation Board and MindFuel. He holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Victoria, a Master of Arts degree from the University of Texas and Master of Philosophy and Doctor of Philosophy degrees from the University of Cambridge.

John D. Evans, KC, of Lethbridge was born and raised in Brooks, Alberta, and attended the University of Lethbridge before embarking on an LLB from the University of Calgary, which he completed in 1995. John has worked at Stringam LLP as both a Managing Partner and Chair of the Board. In addition, he was awarded a King's Counsel designation in March of 2020, and in that same year John was appointed by the Premier to the Provincial Court Nominating Committee (now the Alberta Judicial Nominating Committee).

Nominations from Honourable Christina Gray, ECA, MLA, Leader of the Opposition

Greg Clark is a former Member of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta. Earlier in his career Greg co-founded a technology consulting firm focused on information and knowledge management. He is now focused on board governance, serving as Chair of the Balancing Pool, the Calgary Metropolitan Region Board and Calvert Home Mortgage. He is also Chair of the not-for-profit arts hub cSPACE Projects.

Greg holds his MBA and ICD.D designations and was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Platinum Jubilee Medal.

Susan Samson has been a resident of Sylvan Lake for 44 years. She served as a Municipal Councillor from 1986 to 1989 and as Mayor from 2007 to 2013. Susan was named Citizen of the Year in 1984 and was a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012. Susan was recognized as a community builder by Women of Excellence in 2017. She was the chair of the Urgent Care Committee that celebrated the opening of the Advanced Ambulatory Care Service in 2018. She is a dedicated volunteer within her community.

Electoral Boundaries Commission Contact Information: info@abebc.ca

Media inquiries

Christina Steenbergen

Supervisor, Communications Services Legislative Assembly of Alberta

This release is distributed by the Government of Alberta on behalf of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

Unsubscribe	
-------------	--